Brick Chicken

Watching the food network has inspired me to try many different recipes. Recently, I have been itching to try brick chicken. Brick chicken doesn’t mean that your cooking a chicken on a brick, it simply means you putting a brick atop your chicken while it is cooking on the grill so that it will cook through evenly and make the skin crispier. Being able to use items that may be laying around your house is fascinating to me. I have always enjoyed a good chicken dish and brick chicken is a great way to change up your standard chicken entree. For this dish I have used a brick chicken recipe that I had found on the food network website. I did not follow it precisely since I like to put my own spin on things.

For this dish I used two full chickens so that I would have leftovers for the week. I love to have leftovers, especially being a college student! It makes it easier to pack a lunch for school or come home after class and whip together a quick and delicious meal. I also marinated my chickens in olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, smoked paprika, dried thyme, oregano, and basil.

Grilling chIMG_1354icken can be an art form in itself, I have been notorious for undercooking or overcooking it. I have learned that practice makes perfect! For this dish I made sure to preheat the grill to 350°F. You can see that I have wrapped my bricks in aluminum foil so that no brick particles would get onto the chicken. I cooked them on both sides for approximately 15 minutes or until the internal temperature reached 180°F. The chicken was cooked with the skin on for more flavor; you can always take the skin off before serving to cut calories!

As my sides to the brick chicken I had grilled some zucchini that was tossed with extra virgin olive oil and salt and pepper. It is a great and light side in the summer time! To add a carbohydrate to the meal I roasted some potatoes in the oven and lightly garnished with some parsley. I would have liked to made a chipotle aioli to accompany my roasted potatoes but I suppose it will have to wait until next time!

IMG_1357Being able to pair a beverage with a meal can help compliment your food. I love to keep up on great wine and food pairings. For my brick chicken I decided to pair it with a Cabernet Sauvignon (I’m not much of a white wine drinker). I love cabernets and I think I have my parents to thank for that! Although cabs are normally paired with pasta, or dark meat I enjoyed this pairing. I feel that the deep rich flavors of the wine complimented the chicken and veggies nicely. If you are more of a white wine connoisseur I would recommend a chilled Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc.

Please share your favorite chicken dish and beverage pairing in the comment section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

Leave a Reply

