Mustard Chicken and Sauteed Bok Choy

Mustard chicken is one of my favorite dishes that is quick and simple to make. It only took me about 25 minutes to whip this dish together (I love quick cooking!). It is possible to make good food in a short amount of time! This dish is prepared on a stove top instead of a grill like my previous two posts.

IMG_1337Cutting carbs from dinner is something that I try to implement a couple days a week, especially during the summer months. I found that this dish was light enough that it didn’t leave me hungry or overly full. I bought the bok choy in bulk at Costco so that I could use it over the course of a week and experiment with different ways of cooking it. In the future I would like to try riced cauliflower as a low carb side to this dish.

Bok choys nutritional facts make it a great side to add to any meal, especially if your  are trying to eat healthy. I have prepared it with ginger and garlic in a stir-fry style. I lightly sauteed some garlic, ginger, and bok choy until the bok choy was slightly wilted (About 3 minutes). For more ways to cook bok choy check out William Sonomas blog here.

As my beverage I have paired this dish with a Pinot Grigio. I felt the slight sweetness of the wine paired nicely against the slight saltiness of the dish. If you are not a fan of Pinot, I would substitute for a glass of chilled Chardonnay.

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breast
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 3 tbsp. white wine
  • 3 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. capers
  • 2 tbsp. dijon mustard
  • Mushrooms, optional

Instructions

  1. Saute garlic in oil
  2. Add mushroom, saute for 2 minutes
  3. Add chicken and brown
  4. Add wine and soy sauce, cook for 2 minutes
  5. Add capers, and mustard
  6. Cook until the chicken is done

Please share your thoughts about this dish in the comments section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

Leave a Reply

