Rare Steak Pho

IMG_1365I love to cook, but I am human and I do like to take a day or two off a week to get takeout for dinner. One of my favorite items to get for takeout is vietnamese pho. Pho consists of broth, rice noodles, herbs, onions, scallions, parsley, and meat. You are given toppings as you can see in the picture to the left. I am slightly picky when it comes to my toppings. I love the sprouts, lime, hoisin, and sriracha sauce. I stay away from the jalapenos, and basil! When it comes to eating pho, it’s not easy. For some tips on correctly eating pho check out Food Republics blog. I prefer to just use a fork and spoon!

Pho can have many healthy benefits depending on the serving size, amount of noodles, and type of meat. It can be heavy on the sodium but it can also provide about 20g of protein as well. An average bowl of pho can range from 350 to 450 calories. Did you also know that it is a great remedy for a cold, and hangovers?! I haven’t tried pho while having either sickness but I have heard from many friends that it is a miracle worker!

IMG_1371Pho is very affordable, and as a college student that is why I love it! It costs me about seven dollars and I think that is a good deal for how much food they give you. I would like to try to make this myself since it seems rather simplistic.I have been looking through recipes and I think I will use a recipe that allows you to us a crockpot since it seems most convenient for me. The recipe that I am interested can be found here.

My beverage of choice for this meal was a tall glass of iced cold water. I found that I was rather thirsty with all the sodium in this meal. If water doesn’t sound appealing to you try a cup of tea. I have also read that it is good to have a glass of merlot before eating pho because it helps to pull out all the flavors from this dish. I will be sure to try in the future!

Please share your favorite takeout meal or pho recipe with me in the comment section above!

Happy eating,

Dana

 

Leave a Reply

