Thai Basil Chicken Stir-Fry

IMG_1375

Stir-fry is a quick and easy meal to make for the faintest of cooks. I have made stir-fry before, but a very basic version with veggies. I was given this particular stir-fry recipe from a good friend of mine which came from Cooking Light magazine. Her and I got together this week and tried it out. This is now one of my favorite stir-fry recipes because it had a little bit of heat that left my lips a little tingly from the serrano chile that the recipe calls for.

I decided to change a couple of ingredients in the recipe to give it my own twist. Instead of using peanut oil, I substituted it with regular vegetable oil. The only real difference between the two is that peanut oil has a higher burning temperature. I also splurged and bought a bag of pine nuts. I lightly toasted the pine nuts and placed them on top of the dish as a finishing garnish.

As my side to this dish I had made some riced cauliflower. I have been wanting to try Trader Joe’s riced cauliflower that was recently released about a week or so ago. I have heard that it is a pain to make your own riced cauliflower so I opted for the bag this time! I’ll eventually try and make my own homemade riced cauliflower but I was on a time crunch this week. I was overall really impressed and will be definitely buying more of it!

IMG_1378 As my beverage I have chosen a chilled Pinot Grigio. I found the wine to be very refreshing from the slight heat of the dish. If you are not a white wine drinker try and pair it with a smooth and fruity beer, such as a wheat beer. For more information on stir-fry beverage pairings check out Cooking Light’s suggestions here.

Please share your favorite stir-fry recipes in the comments section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

 

Leave a Reply

