Stuffed Zucchini Boats

IMG_1496Zucchini dishes are easy and simple to make. I decided that stuffed zucchini boats would be a good dish to try and this was fun for me to make. I often find inspiration from surfing pinterest for new recipes to try. My pinterest account can be found here. I also like to try recipes from  Cooking Light’s Website.

The recipe that I used to make these stuffed zucchini boats can be found here. I decided on this particular recipe because it called for bacon. I would normally make this dish with ground turkey but I wanted to switch things up. I changed the recipe a little bit to my liking. Instead of using butter to saute the onions, I used a very small amount of bacon grease. Sauteing the onions in a little bit of bacon grease seemed to add a great deal of flavor to the dish. I also used a purple onion instead of a sweet onion. In the future I think I will be adding some mushrooms to this dish. I felt the bacon, tomato, and onion filling was great but could use one more vegetable.

IMG_1504For my sides I decided to make some quinoa. This is the tricolor quinoa from Trader Joe’s. I like to use vegetable or chicken stock instead of water. I unfortunately was out of both so I opted for water but I certainly recommend stock because it gives it a bolder flavor. I love roasted veggies so I chose to roast broccoli, garlic, and heirloom tomatoes. After I pulled the veggies out of the oven, I topped them with a little bit of lemon juice, lemon zest, and a little bit of grated parmesan cheese. It was delicious!

For my beverage I decided to go with a cabernet sauvignon. I feel that the cab complimented the smokiness of the bacon, and the saltiness of the parmesan. I also feel that it complimented the roasted veggies nicely as well. If you aren’t a red wine drinker then I would recommend a dry riesling or a sauvignon blanc.

Share your favorite stuffed zucchini recipes with me in the comments section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

One thought on “Stuffed Zucchini Boats

Leave a Reply

