Goat Cheese Crostinis

IMG_1960Appetizers have become one of my favorite items to make! They can be quick, simple, yet filled with flavor. You are free to mix and match different items of your choice to make something for many people to taste and enjoy. These crostinis were made for a girls’ night when my aunt and cousin from Ohio came to visit. My inspiration for these goat cheese crostinis came from pinterest, and I chose to do my own rendition which I would highly recommend.

For my bread I used a french baguette and cut it into 1/2 inch slices. I then lightly drizzled the bread slices in extra virgin olive oil, pink himalayan rock salt, and pepper. I then put them into the oven for about 1Screen shot 2015-07-30 at 9.11.58 AM0 minutes at 325°F. On top of this crostini I had spread some regular goat cheese from Trader Joe’s. I’m sure an herb goat cheese would taste great and add a little extra flavor as well, although I felt the crostinis were packed with flavor with regular goat cheese. I then spread some caramelized onion jam from Dean and DeLuca, an upscale grocery store located in Napa, CA. To top the crostinis I wrapped a slice of pear with some Italian prosciutto. Lucky for me, I had a trusty helper (my cousin) to help me put these delicious crostinis together!

These crostinis were packed with flavor! As for a beverage pairing, I would suggest a chilled Prosecco, such as LaMarca. If you are looking for a white wine I would suggest a crisp, chilled Sauvignon Blanc or Pinot Grigio.

Ingredients:

  • 1 French baguette
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Pink himalayan rock salt
  • Pepper
  • Goat Cheese
  • Caramelized onion jam (You can also use fig jam, or any jam of your choice)
  • 1 Pear, sliced
  • Italian prosciutto

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Cut baguette into 1/2 inch slices, drizzle with EVOO, pink himalayan rock salt, and pepper. Put in oven for about 10 minutes, or until lightly browned.
  2. Spread goat cheese on top of crostini.
  3. Spread jam on top of the goat cheese.
  4. Wrap a slice of pear with prosciutto and place on top of the crostini.

Share your thoughts and favorite appetizer recipes in the comment section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

One thought on “Goat Cheese Crostinis

  1. Dana your crostinis were fabulous and the evening was great….sitting outside and catching up! Thanks for your passion to create such epicurean delights for us to share in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

