Chicken with Mushrooms and White Wine Cream Sauce

IMG_2052Looking for an easy chicken recipe? Look no further! This chicken with mushroom and white wine cream sauce is quick and simple to make. I have been wanting to try Julia Child’s chicken with mushrooms and white wine cream sauce for quite some time now. This dish was everything I had expected and more, and something that I would recommend for a dinner party with friends or family. The recipe that I chose to use can be found here.

IMG_2076This dish was rather low maintenance since it was made mostly in the oven which allowed me to entertain more! For my sides I made a grilled peach and arugula salad which can be found in a previous post. I also made some Near East wild mushroom and herb rice which is a boxed rice with no MSGs. I also grilled up some asparagus. I like to drizzle the asparagus stalks in olive oil, salt, pepper, lemon juice, and lemon zest. I then grill them for approximately 7-8 minutes or until the asparagus is starting to get some golden streaks. You can also add a little bit of grated parmesan over the top of the asparagus after you pull them off the grill for a little bit of extra flavor. Lastly, I added some sliced bread. It was great to dip a piece in the remaining cream sauce. I chose an artisan bread from Trader Joe’s fresh bread section.

As for a beverage I paired this dish with a cabernet sauvignon primarily because I love a full-bodied red. If you would like a more subtle red, I would suggest a merlot. If you would prefer a white wine, I would suggest a chardonnay as they normally pair well with roasted chicken.

Share your favorite recipes with me in the comments section above!

Happy Cooking,

Dana

Leave a Reply

